Honorary Awards 2020

 

In accordance with its purpose, the Board of Trustees of the Kimmel Foundation for Postal History, at its meeting on June 15, 2020, welcomed Pierre Guinand, as author, expert and researcher on Swiss postal history of the 19th and 20th centuries, and Jürg Roth as exhibitor for his exhibit "Postal History Wynental 1813-1908 ", for which he won large gold in China, with the honorary award.

The gold coins are expected to be handed over in 2021 after the museum opens in Goldau.

Honorary Awards 2019

As part of this year's seminar, which the Consilium Philateliae Helveticae held on August 31, 2019 in Weggis, Kurt Kimmel presented the honorary prizes awarded by the Board of Trustees of the Kimmel Foundation for Post-History and recognized the merits of the winners.

Giovanni Balimann, born in 1950 and PhD in natural sciences since 1977, was a member of the management of Chocolat Frey and Delica AG for 25 years. Started as an exhibitor in the youth class in 1963 and received the gold medal at the FIP exhibition in Taipei in 2016 for his obvious research into stamps and 20th century Swiss postal history. From 2008-2016 he served as Secretary and President of the Consilium. Giovanni has been responsible for the exhibition department in the VSPhV since 2017 and was elected to the central board in 2018. For several years he was editor of the magazine “der Poststempelsammler” and from 1989-1992 he was a member of the editorial committee of the Swiss stamp newspaper.

In 1978 the handbook of advertising date stamps and in 1983 the two volumes of machine stamps and in 1988 "Postgeschichte Aarau" were published, on which Giovanni worked as a co-author. In 2000 the Consilium published his work in two volumes "The development of velvet franking for cash franking 1911-1997". This successful pioneering achievement contributed to researching and collecting the Swiss postal history.

Our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to award Dr. Giovanni Balimann our honorary award 2019 for his life's work to date as a collector, researcher, author and exhibitor.

Heini Windels, born in Schaffhausen in 1942, founded his own architecture office with general contracting in 1978 after 20 years of extensive training and professional experience in the construction industry. As a member of the Board of Trustees, he was therefore able to provide us with expert support in the purchase and renovation of the House of Postal History in Goldau.

       

Despite his busy job, he found time for philately. His extensive collection of the Principality of Liechtenstein from 1680 to 1985 was exhibited in Vaduz in 2012 and in Lugano in 2018 with 25-30 frames each in the courtyard of honor. Since 2012 he has been a member of the board of directors in the Ring of Liechtenstein Collectors and became Vice President of the VLS in 2018.

In addition, he devoted his free time to researching the postal history of the canton of Schaffhausen. In doing so, he not only took into account the postal aspects such as stamps and tariffs, but also considered the historical and socio-historical background. The postal history of this small canton is particularly interesting because Thurn und Taxis held the postal rights until it was sold to the Swiss Confederation in 1853. His exhibit was awarded gross gold at our national exhibitions in 2012 and 2018 and the silver post horn in 2015 in Sindelfingen.

While Heini Windels stepped down, our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to award him our 2019 Honorary Award for his life's work as a collector, researcher and exhibitor.

Honorary Awards 2018

 

The honorary prizes of the Kimmel Foundation were awarded on the occasion of the advanced training seminar on November 17, 2018 in the Olten railway station buffet. Kurt Kimmel was able to tell Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin and Joos Dünki present the highly deserved honorary awards.

Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin, born in 1930 in Schwyz, he was the director of Rex-Verlag from 1966 to 1983 and received letters from all over the world, which aroused his interest in stamp collecting. In 1985 he was appointed to the Lucerne Monument Preservation and worked in the afternoon in the State Archives, which made his extensive research easier for him. In 1997 he published his first book "Postal History of the Canton of Schwyz", which comprehensively presents this area, which had previously been neglected, on 685 pages. This exemplary work can serve as a template for processing the postal history of other cantons. A second volume followed in 2000 with all the stamps of the Canton of Schwyz. These are listed on 667 pages with details of the period of use and all stamps known to the author. In addition to his and other collections, this also includes those of the State Archives Lucerne, Schwyz and St. Gallen and allows conclusions to be drawn about the rarity. Some have since found their way into the collection of our foundation. Our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to appoint Dr. Inderbitzin to award our honorary award 2018 for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author.

Joos Dünki, born in Embrach in 1949, he has been collecting receipts and documents for his home collection in the Embrach Valley for more than 40 years, about which he published the brochure "150 Years of Post in the Embrach Valley" in 1992. After he exhibited his extended collection area "Postal History of the Bülach District" for the first time in 2006, he has since achieved three of the first-place exhibitions, each gold or large gold. His exhibit was awarded the Silver Posthorn in Sindelfingen in 2009, which was a notable success for a collection area of ​​regional importance. Joos Dünki has been a member of the board and broadcasting director of the Swiss Association for Postal History for around 30 years. He also played a key role in ensuring that Switzerland has been present and represented in a pleasant manner for many years at the "International Post-History Days", which take place in Sindelfingen at the end of October each year. Our board of trustees unanimously decided to award our honorary award 2018 to Mr. Joos Dünki, especially as a collector and exhibitor.

Honorary Awards 2017

The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2017 honorary award as

...author Felix Winterstein, for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Jean Voruz, for his FIP Grand Prix International exhibit "Geneva Postal Services 1839-1862".

Honorary Awards 2016

 

The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2016 honorary award as

...author Richard Schäfer, for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Hans Häfeli, for his exhibit "Postgeschichte der Stadt Zürich 1602 - 1800".

Honorary Awards 2015

The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2015 honorary award as

...author Paolo Vollmeier, for his life's work as author and publisher of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Max Mattli, for his exhibit "Die Postgeschichte des Kantons Appenzell Ausserrhoden bis 1900".

Imprint    AGB

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 kimmelstiftung.ch                                                                                                                                                                                       info@kimmelstiftung.ch

Ehrenpreise 2021

Gemäss seinem Stiftungszweck konnte der Stiftungsrat der Kimmel Stiftung für Post-Geschichte an seiner Sitzung vom 23. Juni 2021 nach eingehender Diskussion folgende Ehrenpreise vergeben:

Martin Gasser, als Autor, Aussteller und Forscher der Schweizer Postroutenstempel 1805-1881

Claude Montandon, als Aussteller und Forscher für sein Exponat "Schweizer Taxzahlen“

Die Goldmünzen mit Laudatio und Diplom werden voraussichtlich 2022 nach Eröffnung des Museums in Goldau übergeben.

Ehrenpreise 2020

Gemäss seinem Stiftungszweck konnte der Stiftungsrat der Kimmel Stiftung für Post-Geschichte an seiner Sitzung vom 15. Juni 2020 Pierre Guinand, als Autor, Experte und Forscher der Schweizer Postgeschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts und Jürg Roth als Aussteller für sein Exponat "Postgeschichte Wynental 1813-1908", für die er in China Grossgold gewonnen hat, mit dem Ehrenpreis auszeichnen.

Die Goldmünzen werden voraussichtlich 2022 nach der Eröffnung des Museums in Goldau übergeben.

Ehrenpreise 2019

Im Rahmen des diesjährigen Seminars, welches das Consilium Philateliae Helveticae am 31. August 2019 in Weggis durchführte, hat Kurt Kimmel die vom Stiftungsrat der Kimmel Stiftung für Post-Geschichte verliehenen Ehrenpreise überreicht und die Verdienste der Preisträger gewürdigt.

Ehrenpreis Giovanni Ballimann.jpg

Giovanni Balimann, 1950 geboren und seit 1977 Doktor der Naturwissenschaften, war 25 Jahre lang Miglied der Geschäftsleitung Chocolat Frey und Delica AG. Begann 1963 als Aussteller in der Jugendklasse und erhielt 2016 an der FIP Ausstellung in Taipei aufgrund seiner offensichtlichen Forschungsarbeit der Stempel sowie Schweizer Postgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts die Goldmedaille. 2008-2016 diente er als Sekretär und Präsident des Consiliums. Seit 2017 betreut Giovanni das Ressort Ausstellungswesen im VSPhV und wurde 2018 in den Zentralvorstand gewählt. Er war mehrmals während einiger Jahre Redaktor der Zeitschrift „der poststempelsammler“ sowie 1989-1992 Mitglied der Redaktionskommission der Schweizer Briefmarkenzeitung.

1978 wurde das Handbuch der Werbedatumstempel und 1983 die zwei Bände der Maschinenstempel sowie 1988 „Postgeschichte Aarau“ herausgegeben, an welchen Giovanni als Co-Autor gearbeitet hat. 2000 veröffentlichte das Consilium sein Werk in zwei Bänden „Die Entwicklung der samthaften Frankierung zur Barfrankatur 1911-1997“.  Diese gelungene Pionierleistung hat zum Forschen und Sammeln der Schweizer Postgeschichte beigetragen.

Unser Stiftungsrat hat einstimmig beschlossen, Herrn Dr Giovanni Balimann für sein bisheriges Lebenswerk als Sammler, Forscher, Autor und Aussteller unseren Ehrenpreis 2019 zu verleihen.

Ehrenpreis Heini Windels.jpg

Heini Windels, 1942 in Schaffhausen geboren, gründete 1978 nach 20 Jahren umfangreicher Ausbildung und beruflicher Erfahrung im Bauwesen sein eigenes Architekturbüro mit Generalunternehmung. Daher konnte er uns als Stiftungsrat beim Kauf und Umbau des Hauses für Postgeschichte in Goldau fachkundig unterstützen.         

       

Trotz seines arbeitsreichen Berufes fand er Zeit für die Philatelie. Seine umfangreiche Sammlung des Fürstentums Liechtenstein 1680 bis 1985 wurde 2012 in Vaduz sowie 2018 in Lugano mit 25-30 Rahmen jeweils im Ehrenhof ausgestellt. Seit 2012 ist er Mitglied des Vorstandes im Ring der Liechtensteinsammler und wurde 2018 Vize-Präsident des VLS.

Zusätzlich widmete er seine Freizeit der Erforschung der Postgeschichte des Kantons Schaffhausen.  Dabei berücksichtigte er nicht nur die postalischen Aspekte wie Stempel und Tarife, sondern beachtete auch den zeitgeschichtlichen und sozialhistorischen Hintergrund. Die Postgeschichte dieses kleinen Kantons ist vor allem interessant, weil Thurn und Taxis bis zum Verkauf an die Eidgenossenschaft im 1853 die Postrechte besass. Sein Exponat wurde an unseren Nationalen Ausstellungen 2012 und 2018 jeweils mit Gross-Gold sowie 2015 in Sindelfingen mit dem silbernen Posthorn ausgezeichnet.

Unser Stiftungsrat hat während Heini Windels in Ausstand trat, einstimmig beschlossen, ihm für sein Lebenswerk als Sammler, Forscher und Aussteller unseren Ehrenpreis  2019 zu verleihen. 

Ehrenpreise 2018

 

Anlässlich des Weiterbildungsseminars vom 17. November 2018 im Bahnhofbuffet Olten wurden die Ehrenpreise der Kimmel Stiftung verliehen. Kurt Kimmel konnte Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin und Joos Dünki die hochverdienten Ehrenpreise überreichen.

Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin, 1930 in Schwyz geboren, war von 1966 bis 1983 Leiter des Rex-Verlages und erhielt Briefe aus aller Welt, welche sein Interesse am Briefmarkensammeln weckten. 1985 wurde er in die Luzerner Denkmalpflege berufen und arbeitete jeweils nachmittags im Staatsarchiv, was ihm seine umfangreichen Forschungsarbeiten erleichterte. 1997 veröffentlichte er sein erstes Buch "Postgeschichte des Kantons Schwyz", welches dieses vorher kaum beachtete Gebiet auf 685 Seiten umfassend darstellt. Dieses vorbildliche Werk kann als Vorlage für die Bearbeitung der Postgeschichte anderer Kantone dienen. Bereits im Jahre 2000 folgte ein zweiter Band mit allen Stempeln des Kantons Schwyz. Auf 667 Seiten werden diese mit Angabe der Verwendungsdauer und aller dem Autor bekannten Stempel aufgelistet. Dies beinhaltet ausser seiner und anderen Sammlungen auch diejenigen der Staatsarchive Luzern, Schwyz und St. Gallen und ermöglicht Rückschlüsse auf die Seltenheit. Einige haben seither den Weg in die Sammlung unserer Stiftung gefunden. Unser Stiftungsrat hat einstimmig beschlossen, Herrn Dr. Inderbitzin für sein Lebenswerk als Sammler, Forscher und Autor unseren Ehrenpreis 2018 zu verleihen.

Inderbitzin Diplom.jpg
Ehrenpreis Zeno Inderbitzin.jpg

Joos Dünki, 1949 in Embrach geboren, sammelt seit mehr als 40 Jahren Belege und Dokumente für seine Heimatsammlung des Embrachtals, worüber er 1992 die Broschüre "150 Jahre Post im Embrachertal" veröffentlichte. Nachdem er sein erweitertes Sammelgebiet "Postgeschichte des Bezirks Bülach" 2006 erstmals ausstellte, hat er seither drei der Rang 1-Ausstellungen jeweils Gold oder Grossgold erzielt. Sein Exponat wurde im Jahre 2009 mit dem Silbernen Posthorn in Sindelfingen ausgezeichnet, was für ein Sammelgebiet von reginonaler Bedeutung ein beachtenswerter Erfolg war. Seit rund 30 Jahren ist Joos Dünki Vorstandsmitglied und Rundsendeleiter in der Schweizerischen Vereinigung für Postgeschichte. Auch hat er massgebend dazu beigetragen, dass die Schweiz an den jährlich Ende Oktober in Sindelfingen stattfindenden "Internationalen Tagen der Post-Geschichte" seit vielen Jahren präsent und in angenehmer Art und Weise vertreten war. Unser Stiftungsrat hat einstimmig beschlossen, Herrn Joos Dünki vor allem als Sammler und Aussteller unseren Ehrenpreis 2018 zu verleihen.

Dünki_Diplom.jpg
Ehrenpreis_Jiis_Dünki.jpg

Ehrenpreise 2017

Der Stiftungsrat ehrt als Sieger des Ehrenpreises 2017 als

...Autor Felix Winterstein, für sein Lebenswerk als Sammler, Forscher und Autor von postgeschichtlich wichtigen Büchern.

...Aussteller Jean Voruz, für sein FIP Grand Prix International Exponat "Geneva Postal Services 1839-1862".

Ehrenpreise 2016

Der Stiftungsrat ehrt als Sieger des Ehrenpreises 2016 als

...Autor Richard Schäfer, für sein Lebenswerk als Sammler, Forscher und Autor von postgeschichtlich wertvollen Büchern.

...Aussteller Hans Häfeli, für sein Exponat "Postgeschichte der Stadt Zürich 1602 - 1800".

Ehrenpreise 2015

Der Stiftungsrat ehrt als Sieger des Ehrenpreises 2015 als

...Autor Paolo Vollmeier, für sein Lebenswerk als Autor und Verleger von postgeschichtlich wertvollen Büchern.

...Aussteller Max Mattli, für sein Exponat "Die Postgeschichte des Kantons Appenzell Ausserrhoden bis 1900".