Honorary Awards 2020


In accordance with its purpose, the Board of Trustees of the Kimmel Foundation for Postal History, at its meeting on June 15, 2020, welcomed Pierre Guinand, as author, expert and researcher on Swiss postal history of the 19th and 20th centuries, and Jürg Roth as exhibitor for his exhibit "Postal History Wynental 1813-1908 ", for which he won large gold in China, with the honorary award.

The gold coins are expected to be handed over in 2021 after the museum opens in Goldau.

Honorary Awards 2019

As part of this year's seminar, which the Consilium Philateliae Helveticae held on August 31, 2019 in Weggis, Kurt Kimmel presented the honorary prizes awarded by the Board of Trustees of the Kimmel Foundation for Post-History and recognized the merits of the winners.

Giovanni Balimann, born in 1950 and PhD in natural sciences since 1977, was a member of the management of Chocolat Frey and Delica AG for 25 years. Started as an exhibitor in the youth class in 1963 and received the gold medal at the FIP exhibition in Taipei in 2016 for his obvious research into stamps and 20th century Swiss postal history. From 2008-2016 he served as Secretary and President of the Consilium. Giovanni has been responsible for the exhibition department in the VSPhV since 2017 and was elected to the central board in 2018. For several years he was editor of the magazine “der Poststempelsammler” and from 1989-1992 he was a member of the editorial committee of the Swiss stamp newspaper.

In 1978 the handbook of advertising date stamps and in 1983 the two volumes of machine stamps and in 1988 "Postgeschichte Aarau" were published, on which Giovanni worked as a co-author. In 2000 the Consilium published his work in two volumes "The development of velvet franking for cash franking 1911-1997". This successful pioneering achievement contributed to researching and collecting the Swiss postal history.

Our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to award Dr. Giovanni Balimann our honorary award 2019 for his life's work to date as a collector, researcher, author and exhibitor.

Heini Windels, born in Schaffhausen in 1942, founded his own architecture office with general contracting in 1978 after 20 years of extensive training and professional experience in the construction industry. As a member of the Board of Trustees, he was therefore able to provide us with expert support in the purchase and renovation of the House of Postal History in Goldau.


Despite his busy job, he found time for philately. His extensive collection of the Principality of Liechtenstein from 1680 to 1985 was exhibited in Vaduz in 2012 and in Lugano in 2018 with 25-30 frames each in the courtyard of honor. Since 2012 he has been a member of the board of directors in the Ring of Liechtenstein Collectors and became Vice President of the VLS in 2018.

In addition, he devoted his free time to researching the postal history of the canton of Schaffhausen. In doing so, he not only took into account the postal aspects such as stamps and tariffs, but also considered the historical and socio-historical background. The postal history of this small canton is particularly interesting because Thurn und Taxis held the postal rights until it was sold to the Swiss Confederation in 1853. His exhibit was awarded gross gold at our national exhibitions in 2012 and 2018 and the silver post horn in 2015 in Sindelfingen.

While Heini Windels stepped down, our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to award him our 2019 Honorary Award for his life's work as a collector, researcher and exhibitor.

Honorary Awards 2018


The honorary prizes of the Kimmel Foundation were awarded on the occasion of the advanced training seminar on November 17, 2018 in the Olten railway station buffet. Kurt Kimmel was able to tell Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin and Joos Dünki present the highly deserved honorary awards.

Dr. Zeno Inderbitzin, born in 1930 in Schwyz, he was the director of Rex-Verlag from 1966 to 1983 and received letters from all over the world, which aroused his interest in stamp collecting. In 1985 he was appointed to the Lucerne Monument Preservation and worked in the afternoon in the State Archives, which made his extensive research easier for him. In 1997 he published his first book "Postal History of the Canton of Schwyz", which comprehensively presents this area, which had previously been neglected, on 685 pages. This exemplary work can serve as a template for processing the postal history of other cantons. A second volume followed in 2000 with all the stamps of the Canton of Schwyz. These are listed on 667 pages with details of the period of use and all stamps known to the author. In addition to his and other collections, this also includes those of the State Archives Lucerne, Schwyz and St. Gallen and allows conclusions to be drawn about the rarity. Some have since found their way into the collection of our foundation. Our Board of Trustees unanimously decided to appoint Dr. Inderbitzin to award our honorary award 2018 for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author.

Joos Dünki, born in Embrach in 1949, he has been collecting receipts and documents for his home collection in the Embrach Valley for more than 40 years, about which he published the brochure "150 Years of Post in the Embrach Valley" in 1992. After he exhibited his extended collection area "Postal History of the Bülach District" for the first time in 2006, he has since achieved three of the first-place exhibitions, each gold or large gold. His exhibit was awarded the Silver Posthorn in Sindelfingen in 2009, which was a notable success for a collection area of ​​regional importance. Joos Dünki has been a member of the board and broadcasting director of the Swiss Association for Postal History for around 30 years. He also played a key role in ensuring that Switzerland has been present and represented in a pleasant manner for many years at the "International Post-History Days", which take place in Sindelfingen at the end of October each year. Our board of trustees unanimously decided to award our honorary award 2018 to Mr. Joos Dünki, especially as a collector and exhibitor.

Honorary Awards 2017

The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2017 honorary award as

...author Felix Winterstein, for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Jean Voruz, for his FIP Grand Prix International exhibit "Geneva Postal Services 1839-1862".

Honorary Awards 2016


The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2016 honorary award as

...author Richard Schäfer, for his life's work as a collector, researcher and author of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Hans Häfeli, for his exhibit "Postgeschichte der Stadt Zürich 1602 - 1800".

Honorary Awards 2015

The Board of Trustees honors the winner of the 2015 honorary award as

...author Paolo Vollmeier, for his life's work as author and publisher of books of importance to postal history.

...exhibitor Max Mattli, for his exhibit "Die Postgeschichte des Kantons Appenzell Ausserrhoden bis 1900".

Imprint    AGB

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 kimmelstiftung.ch                                                                                                                                                                                       info@kimmelstiftung.ch